Hosted by Woodcraft
Welcome Guest Search | Active Topics | Members | Log In

How much of what do you buy? Options
MisterRishard
Posted: Thursday, October 4, 2012 10:09:25 AM
Groups: Member

Hey I'm a new Woodworking teacher and just inherited wood shop with almost no supplies, I'm trying to figure out how much of what to buy, here's what I'm wondering about and any help would be appreciated:

Wood:______BF
Glue:_______Gallons
Sand paper:
60________ Sheets
120_______ Sheets
220_______ Sheets
Also what brand of sand paper?

Other things I am forgeting???

Caution this machine has no brain you must use your own!
klandin
Posted: Thursday, October 4, 2012 10:55:07 AM

That is an impossible question to answer without first knowing how many students you are servicing, and what your exact curriculum will be. Even then the best that you can do is an educated guess. In my case for example, the math works out to roughly 19 BF of lumber per student. My advice to you is to start out by making your supply orders in stages. First you figure out exactly what projects your students will be making. Based on that, order only enough lumber and supplies to get you through the first marking period (when in doubt, always ere on the side of ordering a little extra). Then keep a sharp eye on your stocks and replenish as you go along. After you've done this for a year or two you will eventually get to the point where you can approximately predict how much consumable supplies you will need for an entire year, but even then you will occasionally be surprised. BTW: I like Klingspor for all of my abrasive needs.

Keith Landin
Woodshop instructor, Woodstock Academy
"Mens tua sit implementum acerrium in fabrica"
MisterRishard
Posted: Thursday, October 4, 2012 12:05:09 PM