Hosted by Woodcraft
Welcome Guest Search | Active Topics | Members | Log In

table saw ASAP Options
tardedfish
Posted: Monday, January 21, 2013 7:04:53 AM
Groups: Member

I am getting a table saw but don't have much money to spend on one and working with limited space. I want to know what the best one i can get thats relatively inexpensive. I am new to detailed woodworking. Help with this would be greatly appreciated.
klandin
Posted: Monday, January 21, 2013 7:57:12 AM

Don't do it! A cheap tablesaw will never be anything more than just that. Here's what you should do:

- If money were no object I'd advise you to get a Sawstop. In addition to being much safer, these saws are actually very fine machines.

- Since money is an object I strongly advise you against wasting your money on a brand new piece of crap. Instead go to the internet, be patient, and shop for a good quality used machine. Unlike cars, 20 - 30 years is not old for a saw, and nowhere else is it more true that "they don't make 'em like they used to anymore". Old machines are often the best bargain out there. Start with craigslist or your local newspaper's classified section.

- As a general rule you really can't go wrong with Delta brand saws. You're in luck there because right now there is a flood of perfectly good Unisaws on the market since everybody is trading in their trusty old workhorse for a shiny new Sawstop.

- Stay away from anything purchased at a big box store. Those things are not tools, they're toys.

Keith Landin
Woodshop instructor, Woodstock Academy
"Mens tua sit implementum acerrium in fabrica"
woodnfire
Posted: Monday, January 21, 2013 10:14:35 AM

What Keith said
Dansilvernail
Posted: Monday, January 21, 2013 12:34:09 PM

X2. But check with your district because I know that my district won't allow me to buy used machinery.