Hosted by Woodcraft
Welcome Guest Search | Active Topics | Members | Log In

Job Description Options
schaches
Posted: Tuesday, February 03, 2009 10:29:17 AM
Groups: Member

I am a middle school administrator attempting to put together a job description for a spring posting. The last time we posted for our industrial arts position was during the Nixon administration. Our school facilities (and philosophy) are designed to accommodate a program that leans toward hand tools and wood--not technology. Does anyone have any thoughts on skills/certification that we should be looking for? Also does anyone know of any Universities that graduate students with these skills? I would appreciate any advice.

Steve Schacherer

schaches@winnetka36.org
Mike Walsh
Posted: Tuesday, February 03, 2009 10:43:09 AM

ISU, Northern IL, Ball State, Central Michigan, U of No Iowa, Stout, Bowling Green Ohio, have programs near you. Most are heavy TechEd but the faculty may be able to help you.

Edit your post to add your email. (the reply button does not work ) There are often job seekers on this site.
craigp
Posted: Tuesday, February 03, 2009 2:28:21 PM

I graduated from Ball State Spring 2006. They are heavy on the Tech Ed. Luckily I had a strong enough background that I was able to jump into a traditional Industrial Arts program. I would look at Fort Hayes, and also the University of Wyoming at Casper.

Craig R. Patterson, CD
PLTW Teacher
Elkton High School
Elkton, Maryland
klandin
Posted: Tuesday, February 03, 2009 3:55:59 PM